Fri. 8/28 at 7pm PST: Dr.Dolan and Annie Bloom’s Books Kick Off Independent Bookstore Day

Fri. 8/28 at 7pm PST: Dr.Dolan and Annie Bloom’s Books Kick Off Independent Bookstore Day

Dear Readers, You are invited to celebrate independent bookstores by joining us for a virtual author event with Annie Bloom’s Books on Friday August 28th at 7PM PST.

Start your weekend by clicking online for a livestream discussion of the some of the geniuses, cranks and opportunists who shaped modern medicine with true accounts from my new release Boneheads & Brainiacs: Heroes and Scoundrels of the Nobel Prize in Medicine.

The featured bookstore, Annie Bloom’s Books, opened in Multnomah Village in 1978 and is still thriving. Annie Bloom’s has been a major part of making Multnomah “the village in the heart of Portland [Oregon]”. They continue to be an anchor in the community, providing the space and the offerings to explore worlds and expand universes.

Just click here to join us on August 28th with zoom, and mind the time: 7PM PST, 8PM MST, 9PM CST and 10PM EST.

Bonus Features:

  • For every purchase of Boneheads & Brainiacs sold by Annie Bloom’s, I will donate directly to the indie bookstore charity Binc.
  • Attendees are eligible to register for a free download of Dr. Dolan’s e-booklet No Nonsense Guide to Surviving Your Medical Encounters.
  • Join August 28th, 2020 at 7 PM PST us for a chance to win a signed copy of Boneheads & Brainiacs.

Then continue with Independent Bookstore Day on Aug. 29th, when you can make your actions reflect your passions by participating in the parties being held live and online with local bookshops nationwide.

Independent bookstores like Annie Bloom’s are not just retail outlets, they are islands of imagination and ideas, creativity and discovery.

Did you know that a 2019 poll found there are more independent bookstores today than there were a decade ago? As of October 2019, there were 1,887 independent bookselling companies running 2,524 stores. Click here to see the independents in your city.

There are more writers, too. In 2019, there were nearly 46 thousand writers and authors working in the US, markedly up from 2011.

So pull up a comfy seat and participate in community, all while supporting independents by joining us Friday, August 28th on zoom. See you then!

Happy reading,

Moira

Moira Dolan, MD

Stay Informed. Join the Mailing List.

Close Menu